CSWAFC’s integrated CPL flight training course is designed to exceed minimum requirements set by the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) of Australia and the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC). The approved training course consists of the following phases:

  • Recreational Pilot Licence
  • Private Pilot Licence
  • Night VFR
  • Commercial Pilot Licence

All flight training in the Integrated CPL training course is performed in a Grob G115, single-engine aeroplane.

Recreational Pilot Licence (RPL) Phase

The RPL phase starts with initial flight training wherein the student is taught the essentials of safe aircraft operation. These basics include an in-depth understanding of the effects of each flight control input, basic ground and flight manoeuvring, stall awareness (entry and recovery), take-offs & landings, abnormal operation, emergencies, pilotage navigation and radio communication up to a point where the student is deemed ready to safely practise solo take-offs and landings.

From the safe consolidation of solo take-off and landing practise, the student is taught advanced manoeuvres, upset recovery, weather awareness and more advanced emergencies training in the designated training area. When the student is deemed capable of safely departing to and arriving from the training area, along with the safe execution of manoeuvres, the student is then allowed solo to the training area to consolidate and continually improve on skill.

Completion of the RPL phase is when the student is deemed competent to hold an RPL after successful completion of an RPL-equivalent flight test. However, the student is not awarded an RPL.

Private Pilot Licence (PPL) Phase

The PPL phase starts immediately after the RPL phase. Building from previous skills learnt in pilotage navigation, the students are taught the fundamentals of safe ‘dead reckoning’ navigation, abnormal operation, upset recovery and navigation weather awareness. These flights take the students beyond the training area and are longer in duration. When the student demonstrates safe navigation practises, he is sent to consolidate on solo navigation into different aerodromes via standard routes.

Completion of the PPL phase is when the student is deemed competent to hold a PPL after successful completion of a PPL-equivalent flight test. However, the student is not awarded a PPL.

Night VFR (NVFR) Phase

The NVFR phase starts immediately after the PPL phase and is designed to give the students the firm foundation into night operations before commencing CPL training. As night operations pose different levels of challenges, students are taught the fundamentals of ground and flight manoeuvres, solo take-offs and landings.

The Night VFR phase ends with an introduction into night navigation with no flight test required or qualification issued.

Commercial Pilot Licence (CPL) Phase

The CPL phase builds on all skills learnt from RPL, PPL and NVFR. In this phase, the student is taught more advanced and efficient navigation techniques by way of ground-based radio navigation aids on some routes. With the primary objective being safety in every aspect, the secondary objective of CPL training is the efficiency of all operations for the students to start moulding their mindset into the reality of airline operations.
The CPL phase ends with a flight test conducted by a flight examiner. Successful completion of the flight test will result in a commercial pilot licence, class rating (single-engine aeroplane) and a manual propeller pitch control (MPPC) design feature endorsement awarded to the student.